Tuesday 16 February 2016

Kenneth Branagh Award for New Drama Writing #seanocarolan.com#writing #Drama #Contest

Kenneth Branagh Award for New Drama Writing | Windsor Fringe 

The Windsor Fringe is now accepting unpublished one-act plays from amateur playwrights for the Thirteenth Kenneth Branagh Award for New Drama Writing.

The three winning scripts, judged purely on the writing, will be selected for performance in October as the finale of the 2016 Windsor Fringe Festival. The winning writer will receive a £500 prize and The Windsor Fringe will underwrite the staging of the winner and the two runners-up with selected directors.

Deadline for submissions: 5th March 2016


Amateur playwrights only, one script per entrant. Plays must not have been previously performed, be the original work of the entrant and be suitable for staging in a studio theatre with no more than six actors. Plays must be no more than 30 minutes long.


Submit two copies of each script, printed on A4 paper, no binding or stapling. Pages must be numbered. No submissions by email, no scripts returned. Judging is on a totally anonymous basis – author’s name must not appear in the script. Cover page must include name of the play, author’s name, contact details and signature. BBC Writersroom applicants will be granted a waiver of the £5 reading fee if the words “Writers Room” appear on the top right- hand corner of the cover page.

Judges to be confirmed.

The three winning author’s plays will be performed on the last 3 nights of The Windsor Fringe Festivalduring October 2016. They will be announced mid-June 2016 on the Windsor Fringe website. The overall winner will be announced after the last performance .


Scripts should be sent to:

Windsor Fringe Drama Writing Award

Suite 640, 24-28 St Leonard’s Road

Windsor, Berks. SL4 3BB U.K

For further infomation and contact details visit the Windsor Fringe website or email

Please note that these schemes are listed here for your convenience. However, they are run by external organisations and unless otherwise noted the BBC has no involvement with them. Therefore the BBC cannot respond to any queries in connection to those and accepts no liability for the accuracy of third party websites and the information contained on them.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please feel free to leave a message.

Anthology Poetry Award

Entries are now invited for the Anthology Poetry Award. Established to recognise and encourage excellence in the craft of poetry writing a...