Thursday 26 May 2016

2016 S.D. Harvey Short Story Award #Crime #Writing #Contest

2016 S.D. Harvey Short Story Award   

About the award

The S.D. Harvey Short Story Award is an annual competition organised by the Australian Crime Writers Association (ACWA). It is part of the prestigious Ned Kelly Awards, celebrating the very best in Australian crime writing.

The award is named after the late writer, journalist and producer Sandra Harvey, who along with her partner in crime writing, Lindsay Simpson, blazed a trail not only for investigative, true crime writing in Australia, but also for women writers in the industry.

The winner of the 2016 S.D. Harvey Short Story Award will receive a first prize that has increased to $1500. Kill Your Darlings is proud to once again be publishing the winning entry. This year there is also a second prize of $500. All shortlisted entries will also receive a complementary online subscription to KYD.

The S.D. Harvey Short Story Award is open for submissions from Wednesday 9 March to Wednesday 15 June 2016.

Submission guidelines

Entries can be submitted by published and unpublished writers and can be either fiction or nonfiction stories.
Multiple entries are accepted.
Submissions must be the author’s original work and previously unpublished.
The author must be an Australian by birth or citizenship; OR the author’s principal residence must be in Australia.
An entry fee of $15 applies to each individual submission. KYD subscribers and paid ACWA members pay $10. To subscribe to KYD, go here. To become a paid member of ACWA, go here. Conditions apply.
Stories must be between 2000 and 4000 words in length.
The broadest definition of the crime story will be considered eligible, but should include one or more elements that are normally associated with the genre, i.e. suspense, intrigue, mystery, conflict, crime, punishment or investigation.

Please do not include your name anywhere in the story itself (such as at the start or in the header or footer) as stories will be judged anonymously.

A shortlist will be announced after judging, and shortlisted writers will be notified prior to the announcement.

The winner will be presented with his or her award at the Ned Kelly Awards ceremony.

Submitting entries

Submissions must be received by midnight Wednesday 15 June 2016. Any late entries will not be considered.

Entries must be submitted online via a submission form available once you sign into Submittable.

If there are any questions about the award, please email

For any technical questions or issues about submitting short stories, please email

Meet the judges

Michael Robotham is an internationally renowned, bestselling crime fiction writer whose book Life or Death won the prestigious Gold Dagger award for best crime novel in 2015. He is a past Ned Kelly Award recipient and is currently chairman of the Australian Crime Writers Association.

Dr Lindsay Simpson has written five books in the true crime genre. Three were co-authored with the late writer and producer Sandra Harvey, with whom she was awarded the Lifetime Achievement Award from the Australian Crime Writers Association in 2007. Lindsay was Coordinator and founder of the Master of Arts (Writing) and the Bachelor of Multimedia Journalism at James Cook University and founder of the Journalism & Media Studies program and postgraduate writing program at University of Tasmania. Her most recent book Where is Daniel? is about the disappearance of Daniel Morcombe. She now writes full-time and runs five-day life writing retreats

Hop Dac is Associate Editor at Kill Your Darlings journal. He has worked variously in independent publishing, independent theatre and the visual arts. Besides his work with KYD, he also edits for recalcitrant Adelaide outfit Paroxysm Press.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please feel free to leave a message.

Anthology Poetry Award

Entries are now invited for the Anthology Poetry Award. Established to recognise and encourage excellence in the craft of poetry writing a...