Thursday 9 June 2016

Sir Peter Ustinov Television Scriptwriting Award #Writing #Scripts



Created in 1989, The International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences Foundation has its own Constitution, Officers and independent Board of Trustees.

Each year, The Foundation administers the Sir Peter Ustinov Television Scriptwriting Award. The competition is designed to motivate non-American novice writers under the age of 30, and offer them the recognition and encouragement that might lead to a successful career in television scriptwriting. Entrants are asked to create a completed half-hour to one-hour English-language television drama script.

The award winner receives $2,500, a trip to New York City, and an invitation to the International Emmy® Awards Gala in November.

The 2016 Competition is now open - Deadline is July 1, 2016.


The 2015 winner, from Australia, was Gabriel Bergmoser for his script, Windmills: Leo.

Gabriel Bergmoser is a Melbourne based author and playwright. In 2010 his first play, Windmills, was produced by Misfit Theatre in the Yarra Valley, followed by Life Without Me in 2012. In 2013 his plays Hometown and Reunion were produced by Centrestage Youth Theatre and Bitten By Productions respectively. In early 2014 his play Below Babylon became one of the most successful independent theatre shows ever performed at the iconic Revolt Theatre in Kensington, a success echoed by its sequel, Beyond Babylon, which opened in August 2014 to rave reviews. His most recent play, The Last Supper, opened in May 2015 to excellent reviews and sell-out shows. He is currently working on a steampunk adventure novel series for younger readers and a post-apocalyptic thriller entitled Phoenix, for a young adult audience.

Gabriel has performed for various theatre companies around Victoria, and is a member of the comedy podcast collective Sanspants Radio. He is also a writer for,, and a critic for His personal website is

Previous Ustinov Winners:

2015 - Gabriel Bergmoser (Australia) - Windmills: Leo
2014 – Caitlin D. Fryers (Canada) Fealty
2013 – Rosy Deacon (UK) Shards
2012 – Sophie Petzal (UK) Sanctioned

2011 – Robert Goldsbrough (UK) The Forge
2010 – Jason Spencer (Australia) Spirits of the Past
2009 – Claire Tonkin (Australia) Me & Mine
2008 – Jez Freedman (UK) The Storyteller
2007 – Felicity Carpenter (Australia) Touching People
2006 – Nimer Rashed (UK) The Great McGinty
2005 – John Allison (UK) Distant Relatives
2004 – Caroline Doherty (South Africa) Passion Gap
2003 – Jo Kasch (Australia) Upstream
2002 – Howard Hunt (UK) Lie of the Land
2001 – Colm Maher (Ireland) True Story
2000 – Sylke Rene Meyer (Germany) Who is Anna Walentynowicz?
1999 – Glenn Weller (Australia) Beautiful Music
1998 – Tatyana Murzakova (Russia) Smile of the King

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please feel free to leave a message.

Anthology Poetry Award

Entries are now invited for the Anthology Poetry Award. Established to recognise and encourage excellence in the craft of poetry writing a...