Tuesday, 28 June 2016

The Sunday Times Short Story Award 2017 #seanocarolan.com

Writers from around the world are invited to enter the 2017 Sunday Times EFG Short Story Award. The winner will receive £30,000 (approx US$40,000), making this the most valuable prize in the world for a single short story.

The prize is for stories up to 6000 words in length and there is no entry fee. Stories can be either unpublished or published. If published, the work must have first appeared after 31 December 2015.

Writers can enter regardless of their nationality or residency but they must have an existing record of publication in the United Kingdom or Ireland.

The 2016 Sunday Times Short Award was won by Jonathan Tel; this was the first time a British author had taken the top prize. The prize been previously won by Yiyun Li (2015), Adam Johnson (2014), Junot Diaz (2013), Kevin Barry (2012), Anthony Doerr (2011) and C.K. Stead (2010).

Entries for the 2017 award close at 6pm GMT on Thursday 29 September 2016. A longlist of up to twenty entries will be published in February 2017 and the winner will be announced in April. Full terms and conditions for the prize can be found here (PDF) and writers can access the entry form via the Short Story Award website.

Jonathan Tel’s winning story along with the other five works shortlisted for the 2016 prize are available here.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please feel free to leave a message.

Parkinson's Art - Poetry Competition - “Empowerment”

Could you be the next Parkinson’s Art Poet of the Year? Entries are invited for this prestigious, annual poetry competition. Our theme this...