Saturday 21 January 2017

Edge Hill Short Story Prize 2017 now open for entries

Edge Hill University’s 11th annual Short Story Prize 

Submissions for Edge Hill University’s 11th annual Short Story Prize are now open.

The winner, to be announced at Edinburgh International Book Festival in August, will receive a £10,000 prize.

The Prize is the only UK-based award that recognizes excellence in a published short story collection and will also include a £1,000 Reader’s Choice award to a writer from the shortlist, and a further category for stories by Edge Hill University MA Creative Writing students.

This year’s judges are Thomas Morris (finalist, Edge Hill Prize 2016), Cathy Galvin (Director, The Word Factory) and Dr Rodge Glass (Reader in Literary Fiction, Edge Hill University).

Dr Rodge Glass said: “The world of the short story is always evolving in myriad, fascinating ways, and each year of the Edge Hill Prize sees authors from all over the UK and Ireland bringing exciting new shapes to the form. I can’t wait to get stuck into what the Class of 2016 have produced.”

Publishers must submit collections for consideration by 3rd March, 2017. The shortlist will be announced by 30th June with awards to be presented at a special event as part of Edinburgh International Book Festival in August. In order to be eligible, collections must be published during 2016. Authors must be born or normally reside in the British Isles (including Ireland).

The 2016 award was bestowed on Jessie Greengrass for The Decline of the Great Auk According to One Who Saw It. The other shortlisted authors were Kate Clanchy, Stuart Evers, China Miéville, Thomas Morris and Angela Readman.

Click here for more information on submitting an entry

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please feel free to leave a message.

Anthology Poetry Award

Entries are now invited for the Anthology Poetry Award. Established to recognise and encourage excellence in the craft of poetry writing a...