Wednesday 11 January 2017

Moment Magazine-Karma Foundation Short Fiction Contest

Welcome to the Moment Magazine-Karma Foundation Short Fiction Contest. Submit your short story for a chance to published, win a cash prize and meet one of our illustrious contest judges!

The Moment Magazine-Karma Foundation Short Fiction Contest encourages writers to submit stories related to Judaism or Jewish culture or history. Established in 2000, judges and special guests for this prestigious international annual contest have included Joyce Carol Oates, Alan Cheuse, Walter Mosley, Nicole Krauss, Erica Jong, Jonathan Safran Foer, Geraldine Brooks and Dara Horn. Winners receive monetary awards and are flown in for a star-studded awards ceremony. First-place winners have included Joan Leegant, Sherri Mandell, Racelle Rosett, Leah Lax, Reena Ribalow and Jason K. Friedman. The contest is supported by Moment Magazine and the Karma Foundation. The deadline for the 2017 contest is March 15. Click here for submission guidelines, and here for an update on past winners.

Moment Magazine is now accepting submissions for the 2017 contest. Moment will award up to three prizes to outstanding works of unpublished short fiction with Jewish content. Winners will receive cash prizes and will read from their work in our annual Manhattan literary ceremony and celebration.

First place: $1,000 plus possible publication
Second place: $500 plus possible publication
Third place: $250 plus possible publication

The deadline for the upcoming contest is March 15, 2017.

The 2016 awards ceremony took place November 15th at Hebrew Union College in New York and featured 2016 judge Nicholas Delbanco in conversation with U.S. Poet Laureate Robert Pinsky.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please feel free to leave a message.

Anthology Poetry Award

Entries are now invited for the Anthology Poetry Award. Established to recognise and encourage excellence in the craft of poetry writing a...