Friday 24 February 2017

Windsor Fringe - Kenneth Branagh Award for New Drama Writing

Kenneth Branagh Award for New Drama Writing

Amateur playwrights world-wide are invited to submit unpublished one-act plays in English for the Kenneth Branagh Award. Three winning scripts will be selected for performances during the Windsor Fringe Festival in October 2017.

One of the three scripts will be chosen for the £500 prize, judged on the writing only.

Submission deadline March 5th 2017


Only amateur playwrights are eligible and only one script per author will be accepted. Each script must be an original work and not have been previously published or performed.


Each play must be no more than 30 minutes long, have a cast of no more than six actors, and be suitable for staging in a studio theatre.

Submission guidelines

So that each script may be judged anonymously, the author’s name must appear on the cover page only, not in the script. Writers should submit two copies of their plays, printed on one side only of A4 paper with no binding or stapling. Pages must be numbered. No submissions will be accepted by email; and no scripts will be returned. The cover page must show the name of the play and the author’s name, contact details and signature

Selection process

Scripts will be evaluated by readers and the final nine short listed by our two judges (names to be confirmed.) The three winning writers will be notified by the middle of June 2017. Results of the competition will be announced through the media, the Windsor Fringe web//Twitter/ Facebook sites and the winner of the £500 award will be announced after the last night performance..

For additional information telephone: 07858 132941 or e-mail:

For further infomation visit the Windsor Fringe website

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please feel free to leave a message.

Anthology Poetry Award

Entries are now invited for the Anthology Poetry Award. Established to recognise and encourage excellence in the craft of poetry writing a...