Monday 3 April 2017

Polari First Book Prize

Polari First Book Prize 2017 

This year’s Polari First Book Prize is now open for submissions (deadline May 1, 2017).

Now in its seventh year, the Prize is awarded annually to a writer whose first book explores the LGBT experience, whether in poetry, prose, fiction or non-fiction. Writers must be born or resident in the UK and Ireland and books published in the 12 months up to February 1, 2017.

Last year’s winner was Paul McVeigh for The Good Son (Salt). He received a trophy courtesy of Out News Global and a cheque for £1000 courtesy of FMcM Associates.

The 2017 prize is judged by a panel comprising chair Paul Burston, author, journalist and host of Polari literary salon; Rachel Holmes, author and former Head of Literature & Spoken Word at the Southbank; Suzi Feay, literary critic; VG Lee, author and comedian; and Alexis Gregory, playwright, actor and producer.

Polari First Book Prize partners include WH Smith Travel and FMcM.

The shortlisted books will be stocked at selected WH Smith Travel outlets nationwide. The following terms and conditions apply –

1. All titles bought for sale in WHSmith Travel stores will be purchased at a cost price/discount agreed by publisher and the buyer prior to in store placement.
2. All copies are bought sale or return and are returnable from 3 months after the purchase date.
3. Ideally each title should be stocked at a book distributors (eg: Gardners, Bertrams, Orca Book Services, Turnaround, Central Book Services) which will be able to ship stock direct to retailer.
4. WHSmith Travel reserve the right to not stock any particular title(s).

For further submission details, please email

For further information please contact Ashton Bainbridge at FMcM Associates 0207 405 7422 or

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please feel free to leave a message.

Anthology Poetry Award

Entries are now invited for the Anthology Poetry Award. Established to recognise and encourage excellence in the craft of poetry writing a...