Monday 1 May 2017

The Patrick Kavanagh Poetry Award

The Patrick Kavanagh Poetry Award

The Patrick Kavanagh Poetry Award for a first unpublished collection of poems in English is open to poets, born in the island of Ireland, or of Irish nationality, or long term resident in Ireland.

The award is now in its 46th year. Previous winners include Eileán Ni Chuilleanáin, Paul Durcan, Thomas McCarthy, Peter Sirr, Sinead Morrissey, Conor O’Callaghan, Celia de Freine and Joseph Woods.

This year we are delighted to have The Institute of Education as our sponsor. The Institute of Education has been one of Irelands leading school for nearly 50 Years and is honoured to be associated with this wonderful award that recognises great new poetry. The winner of this year’s award will receive €1,000. Closing date for entries is Friday 28th July 2017.

The Award will be presented on the evening of the Friday 29th September 2017 at the opening of the Annual Patrick Kavanagh Weekend in Inniskeen.


Rules and entry form are available here:

Rules Patrick Kavanagh Poetry Award 2017
(Word Document Format)

Rules Patrick Kavanagh Poetry Award 2017(PDF Document Format)

or from the Patrick Kavanagh Centre, Inniskeen, Co. Monaghan.

Tel: 00353(0)429378560,
Fax: 00353(0)429378855

Thanks to our Sponsor
The Patrick Kavanagh Poetry Award is sponsored by The Institute of Education, Ireland’s leading school for exam focused tuition.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please feel free to leave a message.

Anthology Poetry Award

Entries are now invited for the Anthology Poetry Award. Established to recognise and encourage excellence in the craft of poetry writing a...