Saturday, 6 January 2018



2018 Guidelines

The contest is open to all writers who have not yet published a book of fiction. Submissions must be 1,200 words or fewer. Melinda Moustakis, author of Bear Down, Bear North: Alaska Stories, which won the Flannery O’Connor Award and was a 5 Under 35 selection by the National Book Foundation, and who is currently the Rona Jaffe Cullman Fellow at the New York Public Library, will be the final judge. The Kenyon Review will publish the winning short story in the Jan/Feb 2019 issue, and the author will be awarded a scholarship to attend the 2018 Writers Workshop in Gambier, Ohio. Additional info on the Writers Workshop is available here.

Submission Guidelines
Writers must not have published a book of fiction at the time of submission. (We define a “published book of fiction” as a novel, novella or short story collection written by you and published by someone other than you in print, on the web, or in ebook format.)
Stories must be no more than 1,200 words in length.
One submission per entrant.
Please do not simultaneously submit your contest entry to another magazine or contest.
Please do not submit work that has been previously published.
All entries will be read blind. Before you submit, please remove your name and any other identifying information from your manuscript.
The submissions link will be active January 1st to 31st. All work must be submitted through our electronic system. We cannot accept paper submissions.
A $24 entry fee will be collected at the time of submission. Each entrant will receive a one-year subscription to the Kenyon Review which will start with the Mar/Apr 2018 issue. Current subscribers will receive a one-year extension on their current subscription. Please note: we are only able to offer domestic print subscriptions for this special contest rate. If you live abroad (including Canada), we will happily provide you with a digital-only one-year subscription to the magazine.
Winners will be announced in the late spring. You will receive an e-mail notifying you of any decisions regarding your work.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please feel free to leave a message.

Anthology Poetry Award

Entries are now invited for the Anthology Poetry Award. Established to recognise and encourage excellence in the craft of poetry writing a...