Wednesday 24 January 2018


The White Review Short Story Prize
is an annual short story competition for emerging writers. This year, we are excited that United Agents are supporting the prize.

The White Review Short Story Prize was established with support from a Jerwood Charitable Foundation Small Grant in 2013. The prize awards £2,500 to the best piece of short fiction by a writer resident in Britain & Ireland who has yet to secure a publishing deal. Previous winners are Claire-Louise Bennett, Ruby Cowling, Owen Booth, Sophie Mackintosh and Nicole Flattery. They have gone on to secure publishing deals with Hamish Hamilton, Fitzcarraldo Editions, Fourth Estate and The Stinging Fly.

THE WHITE REVIEW will offer 50 free entries to writers on low-incomes. If you are a low-income writer and would like to apply for free entry, please read the additional low-income entry guidelines below.

The judges will be looking for short stories that explore and expand the possibilities of the form. We encourage submissions from all literary genres, and there are no restrictions on theme or subject matter. We would only emphasise that the prize was founded to reward ambitious, imaginative and innovative approaches to creative writing.

The winning story will be published in a quarterly print issue of THE WHITE REVIEW. Shortlisted writers will have their work published online and receive feedback from the editors of THE WHITE REVIEW.

In 2013, the inaugural White Review Short Story Prize was judged by novelist Deborah Levy, agent Karolina Sutton and editor Alex Bowler and won by Claire-Louise Bennett for ‘The Lady of the House’.

In 2014, the second White Review Short Story Prize was judged by novelist Kevin Barry, agent Anna Webber and editor Max Porter and won by Ruby Cowling for ‘Biophile’.

In 2015, the prize was judged by novelist Ned Beauman, agent Lucy Luck and editor Hannah Westland and won by Owen Booth for ‘I Told You I’d Buy You Anything You Wanted So You Asked For A Submarine Fleet’.

In 2016, the prize was judged by novelist Eimear McBride, agent Imogen Pelham and editor Simon Prosser and won by Sophie Mackintosh for ‘Grace’.

In 2017, the prize was judged by editor Mitzi Angel, novelist Joe Dunthorne, and writer and critic Jon Day, and won by Nicole Flattery for ‘Track’.


The deadline for submissions is: 17:00 1st March 2018. No entries will be considered if submitted after 17:00 on 1st March 2018 (GMT/EST).

Please read these eligibility and entry rules carefully before beginning the online entry process. Submission of an entry is taken as acceptance of the entry rules.

To enter the Prize, you must first buy an entry from The White Review Shop.


You must then enter your payment reference number, contained in the payment receipt, into the form below, along with your entry.


The shortlist will be announced in April 2018. The winner will be announced at a party in London that month. For any queries not covered below, please email:


THE WHITE REVIEW is offering free entry to the Prize for up to 50 low-income writers. If you are a low-income writer and would like to apply for free entry, please follow the below application guidelines. We will receive applications for free entries until 24 January 2018. THE WHITE REVIEW will grant eligible applicants free entry on a first come first-served basis.

Low-income writers applying for free entry should also read the additional guidelines, below the general Terms and Conditions.



CHLOE ARIDJIS is a Mexican writer based in London. Her first novel, BOOK OF CLOUDS, won the Prix du Premier Roman Etranger in France and her second novel, ASUNDER, is set in the National Gallery. Her third novel, SEA MONSTERS, will come out in early 2019. She also writes for art journals and was co-curator of the Leonora Carrington exhibition at Tate Liverpool. She was awarded a Guggenheim Fellowship in 2014.

SAM BYERS is the author of IDIOPATHY, which was published in 2013. His work has been translated into ten languages and his writing has appeared in GRANTA, THE NEW YORK TIMES, THE SPECTATOR, and THE TIMES LITERARY SUPPLEMENT. IDIOPATHY was included on the Waterstones 11 list of debut novels to watch out for; shortlisted for the Costa First Novel Prize and the Desmond Elliot Prize; and won a Betty Trask Award. His next novel, PERFIDIOUS ALBION, will be published in 2018.

ZELJKA MAROSEVIC is Co-Editor of THE WHITE REVIEW, and Co-Publisher of Daunt Books.

ANNE MEADOWS is commissioning editor at Granta and Portobello Books.

SOPHIE SCARD is an Associate Agent at United Agents.


No comments:

Post a Comment

Please feel free to leave a message.

Anthology Poetry Award

Entries are now invited for the Anthology Poetry Award. Established to recognise and encourage excellence in the craft of poetry writing a...