Tuesday, 20 February 2018

Edge Hill Short Story Prize 2018

Edge Hill University’s 12th annual Short Story Prize is now accepting submissions, with the winner due to receive £10,000 at a special event in London in November.

The Prize is the only UK-based award that recognizes excellence in a published short story collection and will also include a £1,000 Reader’s Choice award to a writer from the shortlist, and a further category for stories by Edge Hill University MA Creative Writing students.

The Edge Hill Short Story Prize was founded in 2006 by the world’s first Professor of Short Fiction, Ailsa Cox, to highlight the intricate artisanship of short story writing and acknowledge the wealth of published collections available.

Now, after 11 years, Ailsa will pass the torch to fellow Creative Writing lecturer Billy Cowan.

Billy, who is an award-winning playwright, as well as a short-fiction writer, has previously acted as a judge for the awards.

When asked about his new role, he said:

“If, as Neil Gaiman says, it only takes a couple of thousand words to take you around the universe or break your heart, then running the Edge Hill Prize this year means I’m in for a helluva ride.”

Ailsa, who will take a seat on the judge’s panel added:

“I’m looking forward to discovering new voices and to reading new collections from writers at the top of their game. I have a feeling it’s going to be a bumper year, and one that will be full of surprises.”

Three more judges for this year’s prize will be announced soon.

Publishers must submit collections for consideration by Friday 23rd March 2018. The shortlist will be announced by Saturday 30th June with awards to be presented at a special event in London in November.

To be eligible, collections must be published during 2017. Authors must be born or normally reside in the British Isles (including Ireland).

The 2017 prize was awarded to Daisy Johnson for Fen (Cape). The Readers’ Choice winner was Lucy Caldwell for Multitudes (Faber). The 2017 Prize featured an all-female short list, including Irenosen Okjie (Speak Gigantular – Jacaranda), K. J. Orr (Light Box – Daunt) and Joanna Walsh (Vertigo – And Other Stories).

Click here for more information about submitting an entry.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please feel free to leave a message.

Anthology Poetry Award

Entries are now invited for the Anthology Poetry Award. Established to recognise and encourage excellence in the craft of poetry writing a...