Monday 19 March 2018

The 2018 edition of our Newcomer Prize for short stories

The 2018 edition of our Newcomer Prize for short stories is now open for entries.

This year we've got a first prize of £500 and a second prize of £250. The deadline is 31 May 2018, and entry costs £8.

The Newcomer Prize is for writers who haven't yet published anything with The Fiction Desk, and haven't yet published a novel or collection of short stories on paper. (Ebook editions don't count.) If this sounds like you, you can find full details of the competition on our website here.

If you don't already subscribe to our anthology series, now is a great time to give us a try. Whether you're a writer looking for new markets for your work, or a reader with a taste for the best in new short fiction (or both), you'll find our anthologies full of engaging, intelligent stories from some of the best new writers around.

Subscriptions cost £27 in the UK and £39 worldwide. To find out more, or to set up your own subscription, head over to our website. You can even choose your starting volume, so if you don't like waiting, you can get started with our last anthology, New Ghost Stories III, right away.
Do Writers Still Need Whitaker's Almanack?

This year is the 150th anniversary of Whitaker's Almanack, an annual reference book and guide to the workings of the United Kingdom and beyond. Over more than 1,000 pages it covers everything from the year in arts to the politics of every country; from the systems of the European Union to the education systems in each part of the UK.

During that time it's also played a role in literature, as an indispensable handbook for journalists but also both a reference book and occasional plot device for fiction writers. But in the age of freely available digital information, does a printed reference book like this still have a place on a writer's desk? Read our review of the 2018 edition.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please feel free to leave a message.

Anthology Poetry Award

Entries are now invited for the Anthology Poetry Award. Established to recognise and encourage excellence in the craft of poetry writing a...