Friday 27 September 2019

Zoetrope Prize

Guest Judge: Tommy Orange, winner of the 2019 PEN/Hemingway Award and finalist for the 2019 Pulitzer Prize for There There, and an honorable mention in the 2013 Zoetrope: All-Story Short Fiction Competition

First prize: $1,000
Second prize: $500
Third prize: $250

The three prizewinners and seven honorable mentions will be considered for representation by William Morris Endeavor; ICM; the Wylie Agency; Aragi, Inc.; Regal Literary; Dunow, Carlson & Lerner Literary Agency; Markson Thoma Literary Agency; Inkwell Management; Sterling Lord Literistic; Aitken Alexander Associates; Barer Literary; the Gernert Company; Janklow & Nesbit Associates; and the Georges Borchardt Literary Agency.

Entries must be complete by October 8, 2019, at 11:59 p.m. PDT. Results will be announced at the website December 16 and in the Winter 2019/2020 issue of Zoetrope: All-Story; and the winning story will be published as a special online supplement to that Winter 2019/2020 issue.

We accept all genres of literary fiction. Entries must be: unpublished; strictly 5,000 words or fewer; and accompanied by a $30 entry fee per story. There are no formatting restrictions; please ensure only that the story is legible. Please omit all personal information from the manuscript itself (i.e., name, address, email address, phone number), as all stories are read blindly.

We welcome multiple entries ($30/story), simultaneous submissions, and entrants from outside the United States. We will email contest updates and results to anyone who provides an active email address. Entrants retain all rights to their stories. Once a story is submitted, we cannot accept an updated draft. (However, an entrant is welcome to submit an updated draft as a new entry.) Entry fees will not be returned or adjusted.

Please email us at with further questions. Thank you for your interest, and good luck!
DateEntry FeeTime RemainingSubmission Deadline Tuesday, October 8 $30 11 Days

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please feel free to leave a message.

Anthology Poetry Award

Entries are now invited for the Anthology Poetry Award. Established to recognise and encourage excellence in the craft of poetry writing a...