Wednesday 1 April 2020


First Prize: €500

The NEW ROSCOMMON WRITING AWARD 2020 is organised as part of the county’s literature development programme. It is funded by Roscommon County Council and The Arts Council, and supported by the Roscommon Herald and by Shannonside FM.

The winner will receive a monetary prize of €500 and will have their winning entry printed in the Roscommon Herald. It will also be broadcast on Shannonside FM. (Four runners-up will receive €100 each).

Closing date for entries is 15th May 2020.

Enquiries to:

Competition Rules
Short stories only will be accepted.
The competition is open to anyone over 18. All entrants must have a connection with the county of Roscommon (born in, living in, currently working in, went to school in).
Previous first prize winners may enter but will not be eligible for the first prize.
Writers may enter up to two stories.
Typed entries (handwritten entries cannot be accepted) must be no more than 2000 words. Mark the number of words in your entry on the bottom of the page. Entries over the 2000 word limit will be automatically disqualified.
Include your name, address and contact details, plus your connection to the county. INCLUDE THESE ON A SEPARATE PAGE, NOT ON YOUR ENTRY.
There is no entry fee. All entries must be received by 15th May 2020.
The competition will be adjudicated by Orla Kelly of The Reading Room Bookshop, Carrick-on-Shannon. The judge’s decision is final.
Post your entry to: NEW ROSCOMMON WRITING AWARD 2020, Roscommon Arts Office, Áras an Chontae,Roscommon, F42 VR98. You may also email your entry to: .Title your email NEW ROSCOMMON WRITING AWARD 2020.
The shortlisted writers’ names will be announced in local media and published online at
The awards ceremony will take place on 17th June 2020 at 6pm in King House, Boyle, Co. Roscommon.
Full Details and flyer can be downloaded at the following link: NRWA 2020 Flyer.pdf (size 160.3 KB)

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please feel free to leave a message.

Anthology Poetry Award

Entries are now invited for the Anthology Poetry Award. Established to recognise and encourage excellence in the craft of poetry writing a...