Monday 18 January 2021


Open for entries from 1 December 2020 to 28 February 2021

The Scottish Arts Club Short Story Competition is open to writers worldwide over 16 years. Entries for the 2021 competition is pen now and will close on 28 February 2021.

We are seeking original and engaging stories on any topic up to 2,000 words. Our chief judge is Andrew O’Hagan, multi-award winning author and editor-at-large of the London Review of Books. He is assisted by a team of passionate and dedicated readers in the early rounds.

2021 Prizes include:

First prize of £1,000, second prize £500, third prize £250 open to writers worldwide

£750 Isobel Lodge Award open to unpublished writers born, living or studying in Scotland.

Publication for the top twenty stories in out next anthology.

The Scottish Arts Club will present one year free membership of the Club to the 1st, 2nd and 3rd place and Isobel Lodge winners. Explore the Club and its many affiliations in other cities (Please note this offer does not apply to current or former members of the Scottish Arts Club.)

Dedicated page on our website for all finalists to promote their work and share insights about their writing life. Go to the Writers' Pages.

The Scottish Arts Club Member's Prize is awarded by our reader's panel to the top story entered by a member of the Scottish Arts Club of at least two years standing.

Long-listed stories will be announced in August 2021. Seven short-listed finalists will be contacted by phone or email in early September.

Learn more about our chief judge, Andrew O’Hagan and what he looks for in a short story

Entry fee is £10 per story. All proceeds are used to support the arts in Scotland.
The competition is managed by the Scottish Arts Trust and run entirely by volunteers.


Watch/listen to these outstanding readings from Alan Cumming, Ali McGraw, Maureen Beattie and John Bett at the launch of our latest anthology ‘Life on the Margins’ - the book features stories from 70 writers who entered our short story and flash fiction competitions.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please feel free to leave a message.

Anthology Poetry Award

Entries are now invited for the Anthology Poetry Award. Established to recognise and encourage excellence in the craft of poetry writing a...